EU, six other countries exempted from US metal tariffs

A senior US official has said that the European Union (EU) and six other countries will be exempt from steel and aluminium tariffs announced by President Trump, at least temporarily.
Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer told a Senate panel that Mr. Trump had decided to pause the import duties while further discussions took place.
The tariffs of 25 per cent on steel and 10 per cent on aluminium are due to come into effect on Friday. The EU had argued it should be exempt.
Aside from the EU, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Mexico and South Korea would be exempted.

comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
FLOW severs ties with "Champs"
Wet pitch forces suspension of play in...
Blake splits with coach Mills