Barbados PM names cabinet


Newly appointed Prime Minister of Barbados, Mia Mottley on Saturday named a 30-member Cabinet and 12 Government senators less than a 48 hours after she led her Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to a clean sweep of all 30 seats in the Parliament.

She has also indicated plans were afoot to reform the Constitution to allow for the main opposition party to name two persons in the Senate given the results of the May 24 general election.

Mottley, the first woman to head a government in Barbados said that the members of the Cabinet will be sworn in at a public event tomorrow at a venue opposition the government headquarters on the outskirts of the capital.

“Members of the public are also welcomed to attend and to witness the swearing in of the people’s government,” she said, adding that the Cabinet “will be relatively large because I have not only considered the mandate given to us by the people but also the scope of the work to be done and the level of expertise at our disposal among elected members”.

In a radio and television broadcast, she said she would be holding the ministers to “very high standards of efficiency and productivity and therefore offered to share the workload across a significant portion of the parliamentary group.

The 53-year-old Prime Minister said that from the structure and lay out of the Cabinet, there would be the “traditional bedrock portfolios” as well as embracing new concepts and initiatives.

She said that these are all vital components of the new “multifaceted government and economy we are seeking to create all of which was outlined very clearly in our manifesto”.

In her broadcast, Prime Minister Mottley said that given the composition of the new Parliament and in keeping with the provisions of the law that three members of the Senate appointed to the Cabinet, “we shall comply with the Constitution”.

The following is the list of the names of the new Cabinet.

“Prime Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment - Mia Mottley

Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs - Dale Marshall

Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training and Leader of Government Business - Santia Bradshaw

Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development - George Payne

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade and Leader of Government Business in the Senate – Senator Dr Jerome Walcott

Minister of International Business and Industry – Ronald Toppin

Minister of Environment and National Beautification – Trevor Prescod

Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs – Cynthia Forde

Minister of Tourism and International Transport – Kerrie Symmonds

Minister of Transport Works and Maintenance - Dr William Duguid

Minister of Health and Wellness – Jeffrey Bostic

Minister of Home Affairs – Edmund Hinkson

Minister of Small Business, Entrepreneurship and Commerce – Dwight Sutherland

Minister of Energy and Water Resources – Wilfred Abrahams

Minister in the Ministry of Finance – Ryan Straughn

Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment – Marsha Caddle

Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Trade – Sandra Husbands

Minister of Labour and Social Partnership Relations – Colin Jordan

Minister in the Ministry of Housing, Lands and Rural Development – Charles Griffith

Minister of Youth and Community Empowerment – Adrian Forde

Minister of Maritime Affairs and the Blue Economy – Kirk Humphrey

Minister of Agriculture and Food Security – Indar Weir

Minister in the Ministry of Transport Works and Maintenance – Peter Phillips

Minister of the Creative Economy, Culture and Sports – John King

Minister of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology – Senator Kay McConney

Minister of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs- Senator Lucille Moe


comments powered by Disqus
Most Popular
Ruel Reid fired
Police search Ruel Reid's home