Crawford heads list of new PNP vice presidents

The People’s National Party (PNP) has three new vice presidents, retaining only one of the previous four in elections held at the National Arena in St. Andrew on Saturday afternoon.

The newcomers are Damion Crawford, Mikael Phillips, and Phillip Paulwell, with Dr. Wykeham McNeil being the only incumbent to retain his position.

Crawford, a Senator and crowd pleaser on the campaign circuit, polled the highest number of votes - 1,973, with Phillips close behind with 1,782. Dr. McNeill secured 1,766 votes, and Phillip Paulwell 1,645.

Of the two losing incumbents, Dr. Angela Brown Burke garnered the support of 1,577 delegates. Dr. Fenton Ferguson placed last with 1,307 votes.

Noel Arscott, the fourth incumbent, did not seek re-election.

Mikael Phillips is the son of the PNP's current president, Dr. Peter Phillips.

The elections took place on the third day of the 80th Annual Conference of the PNP, established in 1938. The public session of the Conference will be held on Sunday, the final day.

comments powered by Disqus
Most Popular
JDF officer shot dead in Clarendon, two...
Man murdered in Clarendon