Burrowes retains Under-18 title at Carib Junior Golf Champs

Justin Burrowes and Rocco Lopez joined Romaine Evans and Jonathan Newnham to win age group titles in the 31 year history of the Caribbean Amateur Junior Golf Championships, which ended on Friday at the Caymanas Course.

Burrowes who was the favourite, fired his only under par round on Friday's third and final day of the 31st staging of the championships to retain the Under-18 title. Despite entering the last day in joint second behind the overnight leader Melvin Morales of the Dominican Republic, 17 year old Burrowes came roaring back.

Burrowes who carded an even par 36 on the front nine with three birdies, affirmed his status as the best youngster in the region with a one under par 71 for a three day score of 223. Burrowes became the second Jamaican to win the James Moss Solomon Trophy after Romaine Evans in 2015.
Juan Delgado of the Dominican Republic who had the best round of the day, a five under par 67, finished runner-up with  an overall 227, while Burrowes' compatriot Jack Stein finished third on 228 after a four over par 76. 12-year-old Rocco Lopez shot a five over par 77 for an overall score of 230 to win the Bob Slatter Trophy, emulating Jonathan Newnham who won it in 2008.

Lopez who led from the first day with a four under par 76, won ahead of Chris Richards of Trinidad and Tobago by one stroke. Team captain Kei Harris failed to end Valeria Pacheco's two year unbeaten run in the girls Under 18 category.

The Jamaican who began the final round two strokes behind the reigning champion Pacheco, shot a two over par 74 to lose by 6 strokes. Harris's teammate Tiana Cruz finished fourth after another bad round of 10 over par 82 to end with 243.



comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
Luton Shelton's father passes
CAC secures $26.2 million in refunds,...