Gayle and Russell signed up for Global T20 Canada

Jamaican and West Indies cricket standouts Chris Gayle and Andre Russell are among a group of international stars announced on Thursday as headliners for the Global T20 Canada, a new professional league in the Twenty20 format. Three other West Indians Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine and former skipper Darren Sammy will also be joined by international stars including Shahid Afridi, Lasith Malinga, Steve Smith, Chris Lynn and David Miller.

Along with the players, Cricket Canada and Mercuri Canada, revealed the teams and venue for the league, the first to be fully staged in North America and set to run from June 28 to July 15.

Global T20 Canada will consist of six teams, five representing Canadian cities, Edmonton Royals, Montreal Tigers, Toronto Nationals, Vancouver Knights and Winnipeg Hawks, with a sixth, Cricket West Indies representative team, consisting entirely of players from the Caribbean, as part of an official partnership with Cricket West Indies.



comments powered by Disqus
Most Popular
Ruel Reid fired
Police search Ruel Reid's home