Russell named in ICC T20 team of the year

Jamaican and West Indies all-rounder Andre Russell has been named in the T20 team of the year by noted sports website espn cricinfo. Russell who returned to cricket last year after a year's ban, scored 625 runs at a strike rate of 183.82. He also impressed with the ball, taking 35 wickets.

Barbados-born pacer Jofra Archer and New Zealand's Colin Munro who starred for the Trinbago Knight Riders in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) last year were also included in the T20 team.

Meanwhile, West Indies captain Jason Holder and pacer Shannon Gabriel were named in the test team of the year.
In the 11 innings with the bat, Holder scored 336 runs at an average of 37, including a top score of 74 against Sri Lanka. He collected 33 wickets with best figures 6-59 against Bangladesh at Sabina Park.

Meanwhile, Gabriel in his 14 innings, picked up 37 wickets including a career best 8-62 against Sri Lanka in St Lucia. Shai Hope was the lone West Indian named in the one day team of the year after ending 2018 with 875 runs, scoring three centuries including an unbeaten 146 against Bangladesh last month.

India's Virat Kohli and England's Joss Buttler were the only players to make both the test and ODI teams of the year while Afghanistan's Rashid Khan was the only player to make the one day and T20 teams.



comments powered by Disqus
Most Popular
Manchester teacher shot dead
Attorney issues warning about pending...