USA celebrate fourth FIFA Women's World Cup title

CONCACAF giants the United States became the first team outside of Europe to win back to back titles when they lifted their fourth FUFA Women's World Cup title with a 2-0 win over the Netherlands on Sunday at the Stade de Lyon. However, they were made to dig deep to get the better of a Dutch team playing in only their second world cup tournament.

After a pulsating first half where Dutch goalkeeper Sari Van Veenendaal pulled off some brilliant saves, the teams were locked at 0-0. 

On the resumption, the Dutch were able to repel the Americans until the 61st minute when Barcelona defender Stefanie Van Der Gragts was penalised for a reckless tackle.

A VAR review gave referee Stephanie Frappart an easy decision to make and she pointed to the spot from where co-captain Megan Rapinoe made no mistake. Eight minutes later, Rose Lavelle doubled the USA's lead with a strike from distance which beat the Dutch custodian.

With 26 goals scored, the USA set a record for a single edition of the FIFA showpiece and ensured that Jill Ellis became the first coach to win two Women's World Cup trophies. Rapinoe with six goals, won the Golden Boot and Golden Ball awards. Dutch goalkeeper Sari Van Veenendaal won the Golden Glove Award.

comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
Ruel Reid purchased $45 million home this...
Jamaica signs air service agreement with...
MPC Renewable Energies calls for transparency...